Home

 

Blog photo 3 a busy person

This week I had the amazing opportunity to speak with author Rebecca Bryn.

Bryn lives in West Wales with her husband, rescue dog and a flock of sheep. She paints the stunning Pembrokeshire coast and writes thrillers with a twist. The landscape inspires both her painting and her writing.

IDK: When did you first start writing?

RB: I first wrote Chapter One, the beginning of the novel that now bears the name Where Hope Dares, about twelve years ago. Proof-reading for a friend inspired me to have a go. I was hooked instantly.

IDK: Tell us a little bit about your most recent book.

RB: Oddly, I wrote several novels, and published two of them before I returned to Where Hope Dares and decided to rewrite and expand upon my original idea. It’s a story of our future, a place where good and evil still exists and the age-old battles are still fought, for I suspect mankind will never learn from past mistakes.

The character that ties the story together is Abe, an itinerant peddler with a secret agenda. A member of the Brotherhood of the Keepers of Knowledge, he is charges with protecting a remote area of land decreed by a long-dead pope to be the place of the Second Coming. The signs are coming together and when Kiya, one of his charges, is kidnapped he sets off with her husband, Raphel, to rescue her. When Raphel stumbles upon the secrets of the Keepers, Abe has hard choices to make. The safety of those he loves or the souls of mankind?

IDK: Who are some of your non-literary inspirations?

RB: My daughter-in-law’s sister, who was inspirational in her battle against cancer. Some of the great artists, notably Turner. Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela, John Denver.

IDK: Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character? (Television, movies, books).

RB: The young man on Dr Quinn, Medicine Woman. And my son is named after Danile Fogarty of the Oneidin Line

IDK: What is the first step in your writing process?

RB: A glimmer of an idea. I make notes, expand the idea and see where it runs. Sometimes it leads to a novel.

IDK: What is some advice you would give a person just starting their writing pursuits?

RB: Don’t be afraid to just write. Join a writing group, get your work read and learn to take criticism. I’ve had scathing criticism from my editor friend. I stomp around a bit, curse for while, and then admit she has a point and rewrite: it’s rarely what she had in mind but it’s always an improvement.

IDK: You are best friends with the main character of the last book you read. What would you two do first?

RB: The last character I read about was in a vegetative state, and unable to move or communicate so not a lot. I’d sit and read to him in the hope he could hear me.

IDK: Do you have any upcoming projects?

RB: Yes. I’m presently working on an historical novel, On Different Shores, based on the true story of my great-great-great-uncle who was transported to Tasmania for the murder of a gamekeeper. I have a lot of historical documentation and the research into the period generally is fascinating.

IDK: What are some of your non-writing activities?

RB: My main pastime is painting. I belong to the St Davids and Solva Art Group and we hold exhibitions of work every year. I also enjoy walking and gardening. Writing takes up a lot of my time.

IDK: Would you rather be a master of every musical instrument or be able to speak every language fluently?

RB: Give me music, every day.

IDK: What was the first thing you ever got published? A poem, a story, an essay?

RB: I suppose it would be a short story, published on my on-line writing group. If you mean published as in for sale, then Touching the Wire, an historical thriller about the women of Auschwitz.

IDK: Any final thoughts you would like to leave for the readers?

RB: I love weaving complex tales with flawed characters. Readers have said that they don’t read my books, they live them, every second of them. I think that’s high praise. I’d love readers to enjoy reading my tales as much as I enjoyed writing them. I’d really love to hear readers thoughts as it helps so much with the evolution of the writing process, so please, leave a review for me to ponder.

2 thoughts on “Author Feature: Rebecca Bryn

  1. Pingback: Author Feature: Rebecca Bryn – rebeccabrynblog

Leave a Reply

