Home

Photo Oct 17, 3 14 50 PM Recently I had the pleasure of interviewing New York Rapper Nenjah Nycist.

 

Nycist was born in the Bronx, NY. He is a Self-taught songwriter, producer, music engineer and video director (CONTENT CREATOR) and has performed in premier music venues along the East Coast. Has released over 8 full length albums and has performed in over 100 shows! Raised in Mt. Vernon then Columbia, MD. Now based in Brooklyn, NY. He began writing at the age 13 and started performing in Baltimore, MD. He attended Long Island University for a year studied Media Arts. Since then the rapper has shared stages/performed with Redman, Big Boi (Outkast), Rakim, Slick Rick, and more! Currently he performs with his hip hop/soul band, The Rising Sun All Stars – an organic take to hip hop.

IDK: When did you first start creating music?

NN: I first started creating music during the summer of 2003 in Columbia, MD. I was in high school and met producer, NatureBoi, through mutual friends. I had been writing battle rhymes for about a year and called myself, “Nycist.” After I heard some of Natureboi’s beats I wanted to write more raps over more beats. 

IDK: Tell us a little bit about your most recent project.

NN: My most recent project is a self-produced album titled, “Revenge of the Nenjah.” It was my first solo album whereas I wrote, produced, and engineered the entire project. I was in a darker place and really needed to get rid of those energies by making it. That was an album for me truth be told. Thank you for everyone who appreciated it though. I had someone pay $25 for just one song – “Martyr 4 Marijuana.” Thank you to the fans!

IDK: Who are some of your non-musical inspirations?

NN: Support from the people, kung fu flicks, incense, traveling (scenery), home cooked food, entrepreneurs I know, fans and family. 

IDK: Who is one artist outside your genre you would love to collab with?

NN: The first person that came to my mind was Aaron McGruder. Spike Lee though. 

IDK: What is the first step in your creative process?

NN: Probably lighting incense. The smell goods are a necessity. 

IDK: What is some advice you would give a person just starting their musical pursuits?

NN: Research and study. Be willing to sacrifice. Patience will be your best friend. When life gets hectic, put it into the music. Stay humble. 

IDK: You are best friends with the main character of the last television show you watched. What would you two do first?

NN: Damn. Ha it was Naruto, so we’d probably train and eat Ramen. I’d have to tell him to leave that pork alone though. 

IDK: Do you have any upcoming projects?

NN: I am working on a new project titled, “N3NJVH,” which will be strictly for the culture of hip-hop. It’s for the train-riding fare evaders, the hip hop skaters, and ultimately for the “headz.” It’s honest, clever and at times philosophical. It’s raspy and heart-felt and I cannot wait to put it out to the world.

IDK: What are some of your non-musical activities?

NN: Reading, beating my whole camp in NBA 2K, traveling, creating and selling merchandise, and being a role model for the young nenjahz. 

IDK: Would you rather be a master of every musical instrument or be able to speak every language fluently?

NN: I feel like if I master every musical instrument, I can speak to everyone’s emotions fluently. So yeah, I’m going with that. 

IDK: What was the first thing you ever got recorded?

NN: Whoa, I forgot the name but it had this verse that started like, “Who you thought taught 50 cent how to rob, keep on talking, I’ll put more holes in you than Spongebob.” The 15 year old me thought that was the hardest thing I ever wrote. Ah man, good times. 

IDK: Any final thoughts you would like to leave for the readers?

NN: I’m staying busy and have my hands in a lot of great projects! Be on the look out for my solo project – “N3NJVH” coming this Spring. My band, Rising Sun All Stars, is dropping new music and a new EP very soon! Also, watch out for my production group BLKKDZ are coming…

 

Listen | Bandcamp!
Follow | Instagram!
Subscribe | YouTube!
Like | Facebook!
Tweet | Twitter!
 
 
 
#N3NJVH

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

