Home

I keep on turning in my sleep. Nightmares are some of the worst treats our imagination can give us. I say treats though because if you look at them, as a story, you certainly have the makings of a winner. Think of the emotional pull they had on you. When I have a nightmare I am often bed bound, with the covers pull over my nose and mouth, scoping my room for any intruder.

Since Halloween is coming, I know people will be an high alert, both to find their worst nightmares as well as conquer, and avoid them. This article is dedicated to how you can capture that emotion and put it towards different aspects of your creative life. There is very little that can conjure the same response as fear. It’s one of the most powerful emotions and can cause even the sanest individual to do some illogical shit.

One popular piece of advice that I have heard a number of times is to keep a dream journal next to your bed, and to write everything. I have fallen victim to the whole “oh, I’ll just remember it when I wake up and write it down then.” NO! Don’t do that. You will not remember. Sometimes you will not even remember that you were supposed to remember something. Dreams are some of the best resources to find new ideas, for stories, for music, for art, do not let them go. Capitalize and that free thought.

If there is something in your life that can generate the kind of physical, mental, and emotional response that dreams, and nightmares, can conjure, why would you not use them? Use all the tools you are given. The story I am working on now was based on a nightmare I had where the sidewalk swallowed me like quicksand. The city was an evil monster that fed off the souls of those who chose to live inside it.

Use all the tools you’re given. If you don’t, you are dumb… That’s all I have to say about that.

Thank you for taking the time to read my little blurb. If anything you can take this as advice to sleep more. Why not? The more you sleep the more you dream, the more you dream the more you can make excuses to write, or not write, and come across as a lazy, piece of shit, slob.

-Fuck it

Leave a Reply

