Home

First, if you have not done so already check out my latest novella Bob is in my Head and Wants Me Dead is up to #12 in the Kindle store for metaphysical books!

http://www.amazon.com/Bob-Head-Wants-Me-Dead-ebook/dp/B00Z9NN3AW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1433945035&sr=1-1&keywords=Bob+is+in+my+Head+and+Wants+Me+Dead

Bob Cover

Is there a limit to creativity? We have been told by a number of people completely contradictory statements. A cynical follower of Tyler Durden would say that you are not a unique snowflake. Nothing about you is original and you are lucky to be a random assortment of molecules that give you a remotely attractive face. Others say that the creativity of man is infinite. Look at Steve Jobs and his innovation of the personal computer? Before him people thought computers were really only needed for government, scientists and military but here I am writing a blog post on a pc from the comfort of my own home.

There have always been innovators who have completely shaped the future of our species. And they appear to reveal themselves every generation or so (let’s be honest there aren’t a large number of these men and a majority of today’s geniuses are just riding the coat tails and adapting revolutionary technology just to make it slightly easier but rake in all the fucking credit.)-yeah if you can’t tell I’ve cut back on my fucking cussing.

So is there a limit to what we can accomplish? We are presented with problems on a daily basis, most of which we solve just by routine. How will I get to work? How will I fix my hunger? How can I increase years to my life? It is only when we have to fall out of our routine do we acknowledge that a conflict exists and we need to see where our limit reaches. Because is that not evolution or adaptation? The end of our existence is when we no longer find an answer to our conflicts.

So I ask again, what is the limit? That is essentially asking when is the end of our existence. So some would resort to the bible and say Armageddon, but that answer is not satisfying in the slightest. What about with creativity?

What is the last book you read? And ask yourself what book that came from. Trace its roots, its references even its template. Was this the first time the book was written? Sure the author wrote something original but was he/she inspired by another work. And if so was the original better? They say that Shakespeare used to steal his ideas from others. And today Shakespeare is one of the most influential icons. Are we all thieves for following him? Is our creativity the ability to steal from others successfully? Picasso once said Good Artists Borrow, Great Artists Steal, which means you take someone else’s work and master it so beautifully that no one associates its owner to the work they associate you. An example of this is Elvis singing Hound Dog. When you hear hound dog on the radio or on your iPod you immediately think Elvis. But that song was originally written by a couple of white Jews (Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller) for famous blues singer Big Mama Thorton.

If man’s greatest creative achievement is our ability to successfully steal than who did the original life steal from? Did God give us creativity? Did we learn from another species on the planet. I’d accept an answer of aliens (yes some people do say they built the pyramids).

I refuse to believe that we have reached our limit. What is the next great innovation. Not the next great idea borrowed by the last great minds. I don’t think we are going to see the next step in our evolution in our lifetime. We are in an awkward stage where our juggernauts of creation cashed out early. Inventor of google, Larry Page is only 42. Bill Gates is 59, Steve Jobs (RIP) was 56 when he passed, and Mark Zuckerbeg is 31. I present the tech gurus. They connected the world and gave anyone with a few hundred bucks the kind of influence that Rockefeller had in his time. These men put absolute knowledge on our bedside table. If I wanted to I could stop this blog post right now and teach myself an intro to Italian on YouTube for free.

So again, I ask what is our limit. Who are the next greats and what field will it be in. Are we continuing down the road of technology? Would appear so. Computer literacy is on the rise and there is a push (though small) to add it to a school’s curriculum. Will it be in the arts? Are we due for another Italian Renaissance? Or have we reached our limit?

I don’t think we have. I may swear like a motherfucker but I am not a cynic.

Again check out my novella. Bob is in my Head and Wants Me Dead is up to #12 in the Kindle store for metaphysical books!

http://www.amazon.com/Bob-Head-Wants-Me-Dead-ebook/dp/B00Z9NN3AW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1433945035&sr=1-1&keywords=Bob+is+in+my+Head+and+Wants+Me+Dead

-Fuck it

Leave a Reply

